Skip to content

Malachi 1

December 6, 2009

A small group of men from my church have started studying the short book of Malachi. Our reasoning for choosing this book followed this pattern of thought: Something short…Old Testament…Minor Prophet…Hey, I’ve never studied this before…Me neither…Since it’s the last book of the OT, maybe it’ll help pave the way through Advent.  And there we have it.

Introduction

Malachi is the last of the minor prophets. It is believed he prophesied during, or shortly after, the time of Nehemiah.

Malachi literally means “my messenger.” In Hebrew the word mal’akh (מלאך) is translated as both messenger and angel. Much like the Greek word angelos (ἄγγελος) from which we derive the word angel.

After many years of exile, the Jews saw the rebuilding of the Temple as the last important piece of the puzzle that would restore the glory days of Israel. Except it didn’t work out quite like they hoped. The peace and prosperity many expected did not come.

Enter Malachi with a message from the Lord.

Malachi 1:1-5

Malachi begins with this statement:

“I have loved you,” says the LORD.”(v.2)

This statement is both convicting and comforting. Convicting because when I hear it, at once I know I am unworthy of such love. I know that I do not deserve to be loved by God. I have done nothing to earn this love. Nothing at all. Yet here is God, steadfast and faithful, loving me despite who I am and what I’ve done. I have loved you.

And this is precisely why it is also so comforting. God’s love is unconditional. It doesn’t change. It doesn’t depend on me. I can always rely on it. In this love we also experience the grace of God. He is not happy with Israel, yet he begins his admonition in this manner. I have loved you.

Israel bristles at this statement

“But you ask, ‘How have you loved us?'”(v.2)

God’s answer? “I have loved Jacob, but Esau I have hated…”

On the surface this seems unfair. Why should God favor Jacob and not Esau? Neither one is a very honorable character. Esau sells his birthright for a bowl of stew, yet Jacob deceives his blind father in order to receive the blessing meant for Esau. It is not entirely clear why God makes this choice. However, I think the one thing we can know is that God does not choose to love or hate flippantly or at random, but with a purpose in mind. That purpose being, so people will see His deeds and say, “Great is the LORD, even beyond the borders of Israel.”(v.5)

Baaaaaa! Now in Stereo!

Malachi 1:6-14

“A son honors his father , and a servant his master. If I am father, where is the honor due me? If I am a master, where is the respect due me?” says the LORD Almighty. It is you, O priests, who show contempt for my name.”(v.6)

Yes, the temple has been restored, but the priests defile it with the sacrifices brought to them. Instead of pure and unblemished sacrifices, the people bring crippled and sickly animals to be sacrificed. God is enraged. And rightfully so. These are the sacrifices you bring your God? This is how you honor me and show reverence to my name? Why don’t you try offering these sacrifices to your governor? Would he except them?

That really is the question, isn’t it? If you wouldn’t give these animals as gifts to your governor, why would you bring them to God? What does the quality their sacrifices tell us about their belief in God? Surely they do not see Him as He is. Surely they do not comprehend that He is the Almighty God, a great King. Surely they do not fear His name or believe that this same name is to be feared among the nations.

They do not honor God. They do not show Him the respect He deserves. They do not reciprocate His love. Yet God does not disown them. “I have loved you,” He says.

Other Thoughts

Paul writes that we are to be living sacrifices, but I wonder if our lives are really honoring to God. The sacrifices we bring to God are not always monetary, but how often do these sacrifices of time or talents amount to little more than the loose change in our pocket.

mmmmm....tasty!This whole line of thought brought to mind a memory from high school. A canned food drive. Every fall there was a collection taken at my high school, and I always brought a grocery bag full of cans of soup and vegetables and other such things.

Well one year, after I made my annual donation, I found a little can of Vienna Sausages in the bottom of my backpack. The next day I sheepishly brought this small can to the very large donation bin while the two students manning the booth looked on. I muttered something about having brought more yesterday, but could tell they weren’t buying it. Embarrassed, I quickly and awkwardly walked out of sight.

Should you be ashamed of what you bring to the Lord or do you properly honor Him? Have you really given Him your life? All of it? Do you honor the Lord with the time, money, and talents He has blessed you with?

After all, how you worship the Lord says a lot about what you really believe about Him. He is the Almighty God, a great King. And He has loved us.

מלאך

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 8:06 am

    “A son honors his father , and a servant his master. If I am father, where is the honor due me? If I am a master, where is the respect due me?” says the LORD Almighty. It is you, O priests, who show contempt for my name.” — That verse reminds me of what a piece of crap I am most of the time.

    Also, there has to be another blog post in you that involves the Vienna Sausages, especially since that’s where you live now. Something about God’s foreshadowing maybe. Oh, and the Greek word for sheep means a fluffy white animal whose wool can be used to make clothing. The English word doesn’t really convey the full meaning.

  2. December 7, 2009 8:53 am

    Jady spoke on Malachi this Sunday and informed us that Malachi, in the original Hebrew, is Malachi.

Trackbacks

  1. kleinwelt.com » Cross Posting: LayZmen

Leave a comment